To avoid these ads,狗万10万提款

How to properly use impact wrench to remove drain plugs?

M

msharley

著名的成员
I'm not a professional mechanic.

Is that a joke? Sorry, but I've never seen that done, I have to ask.

OK, after reading it again, yes it is a joke.

We have to be careful about what we put in-print, because some idiot will try it. On the other side, I currently am free of worms, due-to my self-dosing: "I read it on the internet!"
More Tequila....
M

mikedodge

著名的成员
I've used an impact once to remove a drain plug. It seemed like the gasket was bad and someone sealed the plug in place. Trying to get it out any other way was going to strip it. One quick blip and it was done. It didn't fling oil all over the place and didn't come out all the way but it did drench the impact, my arm and the floor.
Ronson25

Ronson25

著名的成员
Never use a impact on a drain plug unless its a last resort all kinds of bad things can happen...

Also i had to buy the drain plug tool cause it looks handy as hell but i got the yellow 15dollar one.
S

Sgtboz

著名的成员
Typical drain plug torques are 30-35 ft lbs. My DeWalt 3/8 has 150 ft lbs, in theory. So I should have enough torque to easily remove the drain plug. But the trick I don't know is how to 'properly' remove it so that I do not have my face covered by oil. (I am a DIYer and my back is on the driveway ground while working.) Any help? Thanks.
I'd stay away from an impact wrench loosening or tightening a drain plug and you're playing with fire. I got a tool from Matco (i think i paid $14.00) that has a screwdriver handle, very flexible shaft and at the business end, a magnet and two raised pieces of metal to locate it properly after you have it loosened with a wrench or socket. The drain plug sticks to the magnet enough to get it out of the pan without getting oil on you.
M

M635_Guy

著名的成员